Kozhikode Corporation is the oldest municipal corporation in Kerala, founded in 1962. H Manjunatha Rao was the first mayor of Kozhikode Municipal Corporation. Kozhikode Corporation is the municipal corporation responsible for the administration of the city. The mayor is responsible for the administration of the corporation. Corporation consists of four constituencies - Kozhikode North, Kozhikode South, Beypore and Elathur. They are part of the Calicut Parliamentary constituency. For administrative purposes, the city is divided into 75 wards, from which the members of the Corporation Council are elected for a term of five years.